Windows Vista™ temporarily stores your deleted files and folders in the Recycle Bin until you empty them. Once, emptied, all stored items are permanently deleted and unrecoverable. Therefore, we have included an option that first allows you to review all stored items before you delete them.
To Empty The Windows Recycle Bin
- On the desktop, right-click directly on the Recycle Bin.
- Then click on Empty Recycle Bin to purge its contents.
- You will be asked if you are sure before it permanently deletes the files.
- If you are absolutely sure, then click on Yes to purge the Recycle Bin contents.
- You can also double-click on the Recycle Bin to open and review its contents.
- Then on the File menu, click Empty Recycle Bin.
- After confirmation, Windows Vista will empty all stored files from the Recycle Bin.
Note: Once you empty the Recycle Bin, all stored files are permanently deleted. Therefore, use the second method of double-clicking on the Recycle Bin so you can see and review its contents first.